University of California Research Associates

     
Name
Email
Campus
Department
Research Interests
Frank Beanfbean@uci.eduIrvineSociologyDemography, Racial & Ethnic Relations, Economic Sociology, Family
Victoria Bernalvbernal@uci.eduIrvineAnthropologygender, nationalism, transnationalism, development, cyberspace, and Islam.
Irene Bloemraadbloemr@berkeley.eduBerkeleySociologypolitical sociology, race & ethnicity, social movements, nationalism, canada
Susan K. Brownskbrown@uci.eduIrvineSociologyImmigrant incorporation, urban sociology, educational inequality
David Brundagebrundage@ucsc.eduSanta CruzCommunity StudiesU.S. immigration and working-class history; Irish immigration to the U.S.; history of long-distance nationalism; history of U.S. social movements placed in transnational context.
Kitty Calavitakccalavi@uci.eduIrvineCriminology, Law & Societysociology of law, criminology, social deviance, and inequality
Catherine Ceniza Choyceniza@berkeley.eduBerkeleyEthnic StudiesAsian American history, Philippine/Filipino American studies, contemporary U.S. immigration, international migration of nurses, transnational adoption
Jennifer Chaconjchacon@law.uci.eduIrvineSchool of LawCriminalization of migration; effects of immigration enforcement on local policing norms and procedures; prosecutions of immigration crimes; human trafficking.
Edward Changedch@ucr.eduRiversideEthnic StudiesKorean American, Korean diaspora, Korean-African American Relations, Korean-Latino relations, and Race Relations
Robert Chao Romerorcromero@chavez.ucla.eduUCLAChicana & Chicano Studieschinese immigration and settlement in Mexico, Chinese-Latinos,
Leo Chavezlchavez@uci.eduIrvineAnthropologyLatin America, medical anthropology, transnational communities,
Yong Cheny3chen@uci.eduIrvineHistoryAsian-American history, Late 19th & 20th Century, American social & cultural history, U.S. immigration history, transpacific history, history of food.
Susan Coutinscoutin@uci.eduIrvineCriminology, Law & Society; Anthropologylaw, culture, human rights, citizenship, political activism, Central America
Robin Maria DeLuganrdelugan@ucmerced.eduMercedSchool of Social Sciences, Humanities and Artsnation-state formation, national belonging, race-ethnicity-nation, citizenship, social memory, migration, diaspora, transnationalism, indigenous migration from Latin America to the US, El Salvador, California
Louis Desipioldesipio@uci.eduIrvinePolitical ScienceEthnic Politics, Latino Politics, naturalization, U.S. electoral politics
Adrian Favellafavell@soc.ucla.eduUCLASociologyMigration, Urban Sociology, Comparative & Global Sociology, Theory
Cynthia Felicianofelician@uci.eduIrvineChicano/Latino StudiesRace and Ethnicity, Education, Immigration, Inequality
Cybelle Foxcfox@berkeley.eduBerkeleySociologyrace & ethnic relations, American welfare state, immigration, health policy, public opinion, historical sociology, political sociology
Lorrie Frasure Yokleylfrasure@polisci.ucla.eduUCLAPolitical Sciencerace and ethnic politics, political participation and incorporation, state and local politics
Shannon Gleesonsgleeson@ucsc.eduSanta CruzLatin American and Latino StudiesMigrant populations, the effects of documentation status, labor rights, civic engagement, inequality & stratification, political sociology, law & society, mixed methods & comparative approaches
Evelyn Nakano Glennenglenn@berkeley.eduBerkeleyEthnic Studiescitizenship, immigration, intersections of race and gender, care labor, colorism
Sara Wallace Goodmans.goodman@uci.eduIrvinePolitical ScienceCitizenship in Europe, immigration policy, immigrant integration
Luis Guarnizoleguarnizo@ucdavis.eduDavisHuman & Community DevelopmentEconomic Sociology, entrepreneurs, comparative international development, citizenship
Sylvia Guendelmansylviag@berkeley.eduBerkeleyPublic HealthReproductive health, access to healthcare, health along US-Mex Border, health issues of working women, obesity
Erin Hamiltonerhamilton@ucdavis.eduDavisSociologyInternational migration, Mexico, social demography, health, gender, urbanization, geography
Bruce Haynesbdhaynes@ucdavis.eduDavisSociologyRace & ethnicity, urban studies, community studies
David Hernándezdhernandez@chavez.ucla.eduUCLAChicana and Chicano StudiesInternational Migration, Comparative Ethnic Studies, Social Movements, Immigrant Detention and Deportation
Ruben Hernandez-Leonrubenhl@soc.ucla.eduUCLASociologyInternational migration and immigration, border and diaspora studies, Mexico, Latin America.
Bill Hingbhing@ucdavis.eduDavisSchool of LawImmigration Policy, Race Relations, Public Interest Law, Asian American Studies
Charles Hirschkindchirschk@berkeley.eduBerkeleyAnthropologyMuslim immigrants; religion; Europe & Spain;
Seth Holmessethmholmes@berkeley.eduBerkeleySchool of Public HealthPopulation health with focus on health disparities, social determinants of health, and global health
Winston Jameswjames@uci.eduIrvineHistoryCaribbean, African-American, African Diaspora, Europe
Kate Jastramkjastram@law.berkeley.eduBerkeleyLaw
Kevin Johnsonkrjohnson@ucdavis.eduDavisLawImmigration Law and policy; race; civil rights
Susanne Jonassjonas@ucsc.eduSanta CruzLatin American & Latino StudiesGuatemalan/Central American migration, regional perspectives, transregional advocacy networks, San Francisco area as context, immigration policy critique, citizenship
David Kyledjkyle@ucdavis.eduDavisSociologyEthnicity, economic sociology, law and society, global comparative sociology
Jennifer Leejenlee@uci.eduIrvineSociologyRace/Ethnicity, Social Inequality, Asian American Studies
Pei-Te Lienplien@polsci.ucsb.eduSanta BarbaraPolitical ScienceTransnational politics of Asian Americans, the intersection of race, ethnicity, gender, and nativity in political behavior, both of the elites and the mass
David Lopez-Carrcarr@geog.ucsb.eduSanta BarbaraGeographyHuman dimensions of global environmental change, land use/cover change, international and internal migration, fertility, health, rural poverty and development, Latin America
Kelly Lytle Hernandezhernandez@history.ucla.eduUCLAHistoryrace, migration, and police and prison systems in the U.S.-Mexico borderlands
Francesca Mazzolarifmazzola@uci.eduIrvineEconomicswelfare benefits, Economics of Immigration, Wage Inequality
Steve McKaysmckay@ucsc.eduSanta CruzSociologyLabor and labor markets, political sociology, globalization and social change, migration and racial formation, Southeast Asia.
Jessica Millwardmillward@uci.eduIrvineHistoryAfrican American History, the African Diaspora, Gender and Women, Law and Society
Jeannette Moneyjnmoney@ucdavis.eduDavisPolitical ScienceElectoral participation; political geography; immigration control
Hiroshi Motomuramotomura@law.ucla.eduUCLASchool of LawImmigration and Citizenship law,
Susan Ossmansusan.ossman@ucr.eduRiversideAnthropologyemerging forms of transnational social life and political engagement from the perspective of serial migrants, people who have lived in several countries. North Africa, Europe, Middle East.
Juan Vicente Palermpalerm@anth.ucsb.eduSanta BarbaraAnthropologyrural development, peasant economies and societies, migration, labor and agriculture, community studies, family studies, history of ethnological theory, political economy and Marxism. 
John S.W. Parkjswpark@asamst.ucsb.eduSanta BarbaraAsian American Studiesimmigration law and policy, race theory, political theory and public law
Kyeyoung Parkkpark@anthro.ucla.eduUCLAAnthropologypolitical economy, class, gender, race/ethnicity, social justice, cultural transformation, transnationalism/globalization; Korean/Asian Americans,
Giovanni Perigperi@ucdavis.eduDavisEconomicsInternational Migrations, Labor Markets, Economic Productivity, Trade
Carolyn Pinedo-Turnovskycturnovsky@soc.ucsb.eduSanta BarbaraSociologyRace and ethnicity, Latina/o studies, immigration studies, and ethnography.
Karen Pykekaren.pyke@ucr.eduRiversideSociology1.5 and 2nd generation Asian Americans, Gender, Race & Ethnicity, Internalized Oppression, Critical Race Feminist Theory, Power, Identities, Families, Qualitative and Interpretive Methods
Karthick Ramakrishnankarthick.ramakrishnan@ucr.eduRiversidePolitical ScienceImmigration and race/ethnicity, civic engagement, public policy
Cecilia M. Rivascmrivas@ucsc.eduSanta CruzLatin American and Latino StudiesSalvadoran transnationalism; media (Internet, newspapers); migration; globalization; race, ethnicity, and gender; bilingualism; consumption; El Salvador; Central America
Michael Rodriguezmrodriguez@mednet.ucla.eduUCLAFamily MedicineIntimate partner violence, quality of healthcare for multiethnic populations across the age spectrum and workforce diversity
Ana Elizabeth Rosasarosas1@uci.eduIrvineChicana/o-Latina/o StudiesChicana/o History, Comparative Immigration, Race, Ethnic, and Gender Studies, and Oral History
Vicki Ruizvruiz@uci.eduIrvineHistoryLatina history, labor studies, immigration history, U.S. West+
Ruben Rumbautrrumbaut@uci.eduIrvineSociologySecond generation, intergenerational mobility, assimilation, criminality, bilingualism, language loss, ethnic identity, citzenship, health and mortality, education, policy
Kamal Sadiqkamal@uci.eduIrvinePolitical ScienceSoutheast Asia, India, politics of immigration in Asia, ethnic conflict, and politics of South Asia
Otto Santa Anaotto@ucla.eduUCLAChicana/o Studiesmass media representation of immigrants and immigration in general, network and local news representation, network humor about immigrants as a means of social control
Michael Peter Smithmpsmith@ucdavis.eduDavisHuman & Community DevelopmentTransnationalism; global migration and citizenship; globalization and urban development; racial and ethnic formation
James Smithjfsmith@ucdavis.eduDavisSchool of LawImmigration detention, deportation, criminalization, comparative immigration policies and migration of marginalized populations in Latin America, particularly Mexico.
Todd Sorensentodd.sorensen@ucr.eduRiversideEconomicsLabor market effects of immigration, Immigrant assimilation, Labor market adjustments of natives to immigration
Paul Spickardspickard@history.ucsb.eduSanta BarbaraHistoryMigration and Identity in United States History and in Modern World History, Race and Ethnicity in the United States and in Comparative International Perspective, Asian American History, Culture, Religion, Gender, and Family Life, History and Peoples of the Pacific, Race, Migration and Membership in Germany
Khatharya Umumk@berkeley.eduBerkeleyEthnic StudiesSoutheast Asia, refugees, transnational and diaspora studies, transnational civil society, human security, health and education
Abel Valenzuelaabel@ucla.eduUCLAChicana & Chicano Studies1) immigration and labor markets, 2) poverty and inequality, and 3) immigrant settlement patterns. 
Linda Vovolt@uci.eduIrvineAsian American StudiesAsian American studies; race and ethnic relations; immigration theory; gender relations; social stratification; and community and urban sociology
Roger Waldingerwaldinge@soc.ucla.eduUCLASociologyinternational migration; race and ethnicity
Casey Walshwalsh@anth.ucsb.eduSanta BarbaraAnthropologyPolitical Economy, Commodities, Water, Borderlands, Infrastructures
Patricia Zavellazavella@ucsc.eduSanta CruzLatin American & Latino StudiesChicana/o-Latina/o studies, women's work and domestic labor, poverty, family, sexuality and social networks, feminist studies, ethnographic research methods, and transnational migration of Mexicana/o workers and U.S. capital.
Min Zhoumzhou@soc.ucla.eduUCLASociologyRace/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Community , Urban Sociology, Asian Americans